Progression Daily Running Blog at FastRunningBlog.Com http://joshdecker.fastrunningblog.com/ Sun, 16 Jun 2019 03:00:34 FeedCreator 1.7.2 Sat, Jun 15, 2019 http://joshdecker.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-15-2019.html <p>Start of VRRT to Willis Creek all the way to&nbsp;cabin. George ran with me and eventually got worn out. First time in my history being faster than George. Probably says more about his lack of training than my training. 11.91 miles&nbsp;</p> Sat, 15 Jun 2019 06:00:00 Fri, Jun 14, 2019 http://joshdecker.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-14-2019.html <p>Running&nbsp;in the ghetto streets of Vegas. No actually it was decent. 6.22 miles&nbsp;</p> Fri, 14 Jun 2019 06:00:00 Thu, Jun 13, 2019 http://joshdecker.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-13-2019.html <p>Out towards snake tunnel. I lost the nose guard to my glasses. Kenneth Nosewater, Bryan, and new Zack passed me as I was searching. I finished off my pick ups to catch up with them. Then I ran the 4 pick ups with them. 6.01 miles&nbsp;</p> Thu, 13 Jun 2019 06:00:00 Wed, Jun 12, 2019 http://joshdecker.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-12-2019.html <p>AM- Dog pound with Gabriel Holt. 4.13 miles&nbsp;</p> <p>PM- Double date with the Metlers again. Ran the same loop and Maritza ran a portion with us. 3.07 miles&nbsp;</p> Wed, 12 Jun 2019 06:00:00 Tue, Jun 11, 2019 http://joshdecker.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-11-2019.html <p>AM- Half road half grass. 4.13 miles&nbsp;</p> <p>PM- 3.03&nbsp;with Metler in 100 degrees.&nbsp;</p> Tue, 11 Jun 2019 06:00:00 Mon, Jun 10, 2019 http://joshdecker.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-10-2019.html <p>Just ran around 25 with some beginners. 3.13 miles&nbsp;</p> Mon, 10 Jun 2019 06:00:00 Sat, Jun 08, 2019 http://joshdecker.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-08-2019.html <p>Took Prospector out 3.75 miles then flipped back. To add some mileage and for Jason and giggles&nbsp;I tried to go to Snake Tunnel. It was closed off so I hit Dino Cliffs instead. Ran with a hydra pack again. About 5 miles into my run I heard the voice of&nbsp;what appeared to&nbsp;be Carson Wentz. Some how my phone opened the ESPN app. The&nbsp;last 3 Saturdays I have covered 40+ miles with a pack. Steve Wallenfels would be proud. 10.02 miles&nbsp;</p> Sat, 08 Jun 2019 06:00:00 Fri, Jun 07, 2019 http://joshdecker.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-07-2019.html <p>AM- Sullivan to Dam road. Ran with a good group. As we headed back Gabe and I picked it up and ran low 7s for the last 2+ miles. 5.73 miles&nbsp;</p> <p>PM- 2.28 miles around the hood.&nbsp;</p> Fri, 07 Jun 2019 06:00:00 Thu, Jun 06, 2019 http://joshdecker.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-06-2019.html <p>I hurt my ankle playing basketball last night so I tested it out today on the run. Then on the run Caleb H hurt his ankle so I walked with him back to the school. 3.24 miles&nbsp;</p> Thu, 06 Jun 2019 06:00:00 Wed, Jun 05, 2019 http://joshdecker.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-05-2019.html <p>AM-&nbsp;Out to Desert and back with Gage, Caleb, and Carter. Got some Jason minutes as well. 4.03&nbsp;miles&nbsp;</p> <p>PM- Got bored&nbsp;so I went out in the heat. My legs feel better running than walking/sitting thanks to lunges. 2.5 miles&nbsp;</p> <p>&nbsp;</p> Wed, 05 Jun 2019 06:00:00 Tue, Jun 04, 2019 http://joshdecker.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-04-2019.html <p>AM- Tuesday grass with striders. 4.01 miles&nbsp;</p> <p>PM- 2 miles then some river swimming with family.&nbsp;</p> Tue, 04 Jun 2019 06:00:00 Mon, Jun 03, 2019 http://joshdecker.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-03-2019.html <p>Great first day of xc! Ran a little with the&nbsp;Wilsons, Carter, Hadlock,&nbsp;Kase, and Stacy.&nbsp;3.95 miles&nbsp;</p> Mon, 03 Jun 2019 06:00:00 Sat, Jun 01, 2019 http://joshdecker.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-01-2019.html <p>I had zero expectations for this race. I knew I wanted to compete and race well but was also fearful that I wasn&#39;t ready for the mileage.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p> <p><strong>Loop 1 (4.3 miles):</strong>&nbsp;I took no hydra pack with me because it was a shorter loop.&nbsp; The start of this loop (2 &amp;3 as well) was basically all down hill.&nbsp; That gave me a false sense of hope...I ran with the top 5 in my group for about the first 2 miles. Eventually the hills got ugly and I had a hard time breathing. I was still competitive and survived. My calves were getting really tight on the uphills in my speed instinct&nbsp;2.&nbsp; I&#39;ve loved these shoes but they don&#39;t have&nbsp;the hoka cushion I have loved in the other models. As I transitioned into loop 2 I had Marieta help me with a hydrapack and I switched into the more cushioned Napali.&nbsp; <strong>Running Time: 43:57</strong></p> <p><strong>Loop 2 (8ish miles): </strong>The shoe change was an amazing idea! No more calf problems.&nbsp; I ran smooth for the first 4 miles. I ran with a guy named Ricardo for maybe 2 miles.&nbsp; He told me how sucky our current loop was going to get. I was not excited for the horror that lied ahead. Following a sandy dried up creek&nbsp;bed then some eventually tough climbing.&nbsp; I had no energy when I got to those places. My overall mentality changed.&nbsp; I went from being competitive into safety mode.&nbsp; I didn&#39;t want to burn out after only 8 miles into the race so I slowed my roll. For the last 2 miles I cruised into the last leg.&nbsp; <strong>Running Time: 1:30:38</strong></p> <p><strong>Loop 3 (5ish miles):</strong> The last leg was mainly a hike.&nbsp; I ran smooth on anything flat or downhill.&nbsp; This race was brutal on my legs.&nbsp; Even on the downhills my knees were getting beat up. I ran with some shot bloks last week and those seemed to work well for my energy. The running center did not have any this week so I settled for honey stingers. I don&#39;t think those sat well. I felt nauseated and light headed.&nbsp; I knew I was going to pass out or throw up.&nbsp; I didn&#39;t know which was going to happen first. For about 2.5-3 miles I walked.&nbsp; I eventually feel to my knees and start throwing up all over the place. A runner came and helped me but I didn&#39;t want that.&nbsp; I think throwing up actually helped me feel better.&nbsp; I slowly toughed my way through the last 2.5 miles, running where I could.&nbsp; My IT band was giving some problems on this last leg too.&nbsp; In the back of my head I just kept thinking don&#39;t push anything that will do some damage and ruin xc practice.&nbsp; I think I found a good middle ground. So I finished the dang race! Nothing amazing to report, other than I finished my first trail race. <strong>Running Time: 1:17:53</strong></p> <p><strong>Total time: 3:28:02</strong></p> Sat, 01 Jun 2019 06:00:00 Fri, May 31, 2019 http://joshdecker.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-31-2019.html <p>Ran down to Bloomington Elementary and did some hill strides. 2.27 miles&nbsp;</p> Fri, 31 May 2019 06:00:00 Wed, May 29, 2019 http://joshdecker.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-29-2019.html <p>Out and around Tropic. Ran up a random trail for fun. 4.45 miles&nbsp;</p> Wed, 29 May 2019 06:00:00 Tue, May 28, 2019 http://joshdecker.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-28-2019.html <p>AM- Out on the loop with Marieta. 1.83 miles&nbsp;</p> <p>PM- Sunriver. 3.35 miles&nbsp;</p> Tue, 28 May 2019 06:00:00 Mon, May 27, 2019 http://joshdecker.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-27-2019.html <p>Aspiration point loop. 5.07 miles&nbsp;</p> Mon, 27 May 2019 06:00:00 Sat, May 25, 2019 http://joshdecker.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-25-2019.html <p>Drove out to Mt Charleston and ran around trying to figure out the 3 loops I&rsquo;ll be racing next week. I might have confused myself more....the course looks fun but the loops were confusing. I ran strong through the ups and downs. If anything I figured out what not to run next week. I&rsquo;ll do some more research this week. 13.27&nbsp;miles&nbsp;</p> <p>.75 running at Pueblo park to make in time for a movie.&nbsp;</p> Sat, 25 May 2019 06:00:00 Fri, May 24, 2019 http://joshdecker.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-24-2019.html <p>Hit the familiar trails and parks around Vegas. Did pick ups of 1,2,3 &amp; 3,2,1. I&rsquo;m starting to feel really comfortable in my running again.&nbsp;</p> <p>6.86 miles&nbsp;</p> Fri, 24 May 2019 06:00:00 Thu, May 23, 2019 http://joshdecker.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-23-2019.html <p>Headed to Bloomington Hills then hopped unto the ridge behind desert hills and got rained on. I do some of my best work in the rain. 10.07 miles</p> Thu, 23 May 2019 06:00:00 Wed, May 22, 2019 http://joshdecker.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-22-2019.html <p>Up on the Bloomington Mesa exploration. 4.86 miles&nbsp;</p> Wed, 22 May 2019 06:00:00 Tue, May 21, 2019 http://joshdecker.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-21-2019.html <p>Out to Bear Claw Poppy from my house. It got really windy and on the downhill trail I felt like I could jump up and get carried bout a quarter mile. I ran ridiculously fast on my way back due to the back wind. 8.01 miles&nbsp;</p> Tue, 21 May 2019 06:00:00 Mon, May 20, 2019 http://joshdecker.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-20-2019.html <p>I wasn&#39;t feeling particulary great but the weather was nice. I hit some trails out by D-Hills. 7.29 miles&nbsp;</p> Mon, 20 May 2019 06:00:00 Sat, May 18, 2019 http://joshdecker.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-18-2019.html <p>AM- Run&nbsp;&nbsp;with Travis and Dave. 3.34 miles&nbsp;</p> <p>PM- After a long cold and wet&nbsp;day in Provo I met up with Marieta in Springville. Then a wedding in Payson. Then back up to stay in Pleasant Grove. At around 10pm I got out and went for a run. I was physically drained but mentally tough. I kept convincing myself to explore more. I ended up on a Murdock Trail for a little bit. Most of the roads were super dark. Good run with at decent pace. 7.06</p> <p>+.20 sprint to claim spot at State Track&nbsp;</p> Sat, 18 May 2019 06:00:00 Fri, May 17, 2019 http://joshdecker.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-17-2019.html <p>MTC&nbsp;loop with Travis then I added some more up by the temple. 8.06 miles&nbsp;</p> <p>+.20 sprinting to claim track spot.&nbsp;</p> Fri, 17 May 2019 06:00:00 Thu, May 16, 2019 http://joshdecker.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-16-2019.html <p>AM- 3.67 miles around the hood. Great weather!&nbsp;</p> <p>PM- Ran around Springville with Julien, Scottie, Luke, and Cooper. The boys went to the bathroom at a store so I was jogging around waiting for them. Then I ended up waiting at a light for them. A 10 yr old kid came up and handed me a dollar. Probably thought I was a bum. 3.02 miles&nbsp;</p> Thu, 16 May 2019 06:00:00 Wed, May 15, 2019 http://joshdecker.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-15-2019.html <p>AM- Didn&#39;t run yesterday because of a sore hamstring. I am scared of any hamstring pain because that is what caused all my problems a year ago.&nbsp; I felt a lot better today.&nbsp; I just hit the trail for a little jog. 2.25 miles&nbsp;</p> <p>PM- Neon Spider. 4.46 miles&nbsp;</p> Wed, 15 May 2019 06:00:00